What Slide Film Taught Me

This article is written by Mahesh Venkitachalam, but it could very well be my story, almost word for word.

I started pursuing photography as a serious hobby in 1999. After wetting my feet with a few dozen rolls of print film and getting back lustre prints from the lab, I decided to try out slide film – the one that folks at National Geographic were using. I shot my first roll of Fuji Provia at the rose garden in Santa Clara University. When I got my little box of processed and mounted slides, I laid them down on the light table at the store and peered at them with a loupe. I have never quite recovered from that visceral shock of seeing razor sharp images with rich saturated colors back-lit by a sea of white light.

Read more

Leave a Reply

